Airport Security

National Incident Management System (NIMS)

The National Incident Management System (NIMS) [PDF] provides a systematic, proactive approach to guide departments and agencies at all levels of government, nongovernmental organizations, and the private sector to work seamlessly to prevent, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate the effects of incidents, regardless of cause, size, location, or complexity, in order to reduce the loss of life and property and harm to the environment.

NIMS works hand in hand with the National Response Framework (NRF) [PDF]. The NRF is a guide to how the Nation conducts all-hazards response. It is built upon scalable, flexible, and adaptable coordinating structures to align key roles and responsibilities across the Nation, linking all levels of government, nongovernmental organizations, and the private sector. It is intended to capture specific authorities and best practices for managing incidents that range from the serious but purely local, to large-scale terrorist attacks or catastrophic natural disasters. NIMS provides the template for the management of incidents, while the NRF provides the structure and mechanisms for national-level policy for incident management.

With the Federal Funding that our county receives, it is a requirement to be NIMS compliant. This includes Elected officials, Finance Officers, Public Works, as well as first responders (police, ambulance, fire), or others who may play a part in disasters, big and small, are required to have NIMS awareness training. These awareness level classes are all offered online…

Currently those classes include:
  • IS 100 – Introduction to the Incident Command System

    The 100 level classes have some specific courses for certain positions (ie. Hospitals, Law Enforcement, Public Works). They are listed here. If there is not a specific IS 100 class that fits your job description, then choose the “IS-100” class.

  • IS 200 – ICS for Single Resources and Initial Action Incidents

  • IS 700 – National Incident Management System (NIMS)

  • IS 800 – for senior elected officials-National Response Framework

  • Some additional classes ICS 300 and ICS 400 are required for those in leadership roles in their response agency or play other important roles in an emergency. These classes are not offered online. The following link is a listing of classes being offered throughout the State for those that may need these additional courses. Training Schedule