2013 HGSP
Homeland Security Region 4

Pennington County, along with 8 other counties and the Ogala Sioux Tribe make up Region 4. Region Map



Airport Security

Homeland Security

Program Overview

The Homeland Security Grant Program (HSGP) suite consists of five sub-programs. South Dakota is eligible to participate in two of them; the State Homeland Security Program (SHSP) and Citizen Corps Program (CCP).


This core assistance program provides funds to build capabilities at the state and local levels and to implement the goals and objectives included in state homeland security strategies and initiatives in their State Preparedness Report. Consistent with the Implementing Recommendations of the 9/11 Act of 2007 (Public Law 110-53) (9/11 Act), states are required to ensure that at least 25 percent of SHSP appropriated funds are dedicated towards law enforcement terrorism prevention-oriented planning, organization, training, exercise, and equipment activities, including those activities which support the development and operation of fusion centers.

Eligible Applicants

Each state will receive a minimum allocation using the thresholds established in the 9/11 Act. That funding is then passed down to the different regions, allocated on population.

Homeland Security Grant

2013 Grant Year

All Homeland Security grant applications for Pennington County need to be submitted to Pennington County Emergency Management Office electronically at PennCoHLS.
Applications are due to our office by close of business on Friday, August 23rd, 2013.

2013 HLS Info Letter and Application Guide
2013 HLS Grant Application

More application information can be found at FEMA.

All Sub-recipients of Homeland Security grant funds must be NIMS compliant. More information about NIMS.